European Plasticisers welcomes new Chair and Vice-Chair

European Plasticisers will welcome Nigel Sarginson (ExxonMobil) as its new Chairman starting May 1st, 2020. As elected Chairman, he will be taking over from Joachim Tremmel (BASF) who served as Chairman for 7 years. The organisation has also welcomed a new Vice-Chair as of last November, when Dr. Matthias Pfeiffer (BASF) was elected successor of Melanie Bower (ExxonMobil).

Nigel Sarginson has worked for ExxonMobil for 37 years in positions in environmental management, technology, product stewardship and toxicology. He currently is Product Stewardship and Regulatory Affairs Advisor for the ExxonMobil Plasticiser business in Brussels. He is a member of the European Plasticisers Scientific Working Group and has been Chairman of European Plasticisers Advocacy and Communications Working Group for many years. He is also a member of the VinylPlus board.

Dr. Matthias Pfeiffer obtained his PH.D. in Inorganic Chemistry 1999. He has a strong experience in the plasticiser industry after working for different companies, and since 2013 has been responsible for the Technical Marketing of the BASF European plasticiser portfolio.


We warmly welcome both new Chairs and thank their predecessors for their engagement and initiative during their respective terms. They will be joined in March 2020 by a new Chairperson for the Advocacy & Communications Working Group, yet to be elected.